CUFA Awards

CUFA offers awards to recognize the contributions to research in the social studies education. CUFA currently offers three awards:

  • Kipchoge Neftali Kirkland Social Justice (KSJ) Award (2020 Call for Nominations; Deadline: Monday, October 26, 2020 11:59 pm Pacific Time)
  • National Technology Leadership Initiative (NTLI) Fellowship Award (2020 Call for Nominations; Deadline: Monday, October 26, 2020 11:59 pm Pacific Time)
  • Early Career Award (2020 Call for Nominations; Deadline: Monday, September 21, 2020 11:59 pm Pacific Time)
In addition, the National Council for Social Studies (NCSS) offers the Fund for the Advancement of Social Studies Education (FASSE) to support research and classroom application projects which improve social studies education and promote engaged, effective citizens.

Calls for CUFA award nominations take place with proposal submissions to Annual Meeting (typically March) and then again through the CUFA listserv in the fall (typically September). Self-nominations are encouraged. Reviewers use a rubric to make award decisions and that rubric is included in the Call for Nominations.

CUFA awards are reviewed by a panel of member volunteers. The call for reviewers occurs in summer and the review takes place in September and October. Reviewers are publicly acknowledged on this page. You can volunteer to be a 2020 reviewer here.

2019 CUFA Awards Reviewers
In the fall of 2019, the following members served on review panels for the CUFA Awards.

Kristy Brugar, University of Oklahoma
Mary Carney, Boston University/Dracut Public Schools
Kathryn Engebretson, Indiana University
Li-Ching Ho, University of Wisconsin Madison
Ashley Jaffee, James Madison University
Wayne Journell, University of North Carolina Greensboro
Dan Krutka, University of North Texas
Travis Seay, University of Florida
Christine Rogers Stanton, Montana State University
Sandra Schmidt, Columbia University
Avner Segall, Michigan State University
Yonghee Suh, Old Dominion University
Kathy Swan, University of Kentucky
Elizabeth Washington, University of Florida

CUFA Awards Ad Hoc Committee
In the summer of 2019, the following members served on an ad hoc committee to revise and update the CUFA Awards process and call for nomination documents.

Sonyun An (Kennesaw State University)
Cathy Brant (University of South Carolina)
Rebecca Cooper Geller (University of California, Los Angeles)
Diana Fidaoui (Syracuse University)
Lauren Harris (Arizona State University)
Yonghee Suh (Old Dominion University)
Dean Vesperman (University of Wisconsin-River Falls)
Annie Whitlock (University of Michigan-Flint)

Please direct questions to the current CUFA awards chair: Chris Martell, UMass Boston,

CUFA 2019 Award Winners

CUFA 2018 Award Winners

thumbnail image

thumbnail image
thumbnail image
thumbnail image
thumbnail image